Torn Between Two Worlds: My Battle With Motivation

It’s days like today I feel incredibly torn. On Tuesday classes begin again and I feel a load of pressure and sadness and happiness all at the same time. I just don’t know how I should feel.

Who couldn’t want to be around these faces?

Sitting on the couch with my almost 3-year-old son on one side and my year-and-a-half old daughter on the other, both smiling and laughing and just being cute, I felt a swell of happiness. That happiness was a little bitter-sweet when I realized that in just a few days it would end. I would only see my kids at night and on the weekends. My weekdays will soon be consumed by classes and coursework and tutoring. I love my babies and I love spending time with them. There is another part of me that is happy for the break. Does that make me terrible? I love being around my babies, but it gets tiring all day every day. I don’t know how stay-at-home moms who homeschool their kids do it. It makes me feel guilty to feel this way too because in just a few short years they will be in school (and I won’t be anymore) and then I will be home alone (another thing I can’t handle). Then I think about how I might actually be able to get real writing done then.

This thought leads me down a whole other path of thoughts. Why does it feel like, even though I’ve been writing all summer, I haven’t written anything at all? Because I’m blogging. Blogging won’t get me what I want. But I love blogging. I love sharing a piece of myself with the world. Sometimes my blog posts help others, sometimes they don’t. Still, I have a series to organize and a historical fantasy fiction book to prepare for. I just never seem to have the time. Life keeps putting things in my way. Or maybe I’m projecting. Maybe this is a writers way of procrastinating. Regardless of where the fault lies, the fact is there is no progress on any of my fiction.

Yes I said it. I know some of you reading this are probably disappointed in this fact. Especially after my post-GenCon enthusiasm. While I have a clearer path on what I want to accomplish and how, I just haven’t had the time to start. It seems that I should follow my own advice and just write. Real writers write after all.

There is a part of me that wants to just get started on something fiction now but with school only a few days away I’m afraid it will get forced to the wayside.

My fellow writers, tell me I’m not alone. What keeps you from writing what you want to write?

Participate!

